Serve the Servants

I no longer serve myself. I serve a higher authority. That’s something that a friend told me early on in this thing, and I’ve been trying to figure out ever since how to know if I’m actually doing it right.

We generally know when we’re doing the right thing. It’s pretty easy in a comfortable and affluent society to actually do the right thing, because we’re rarely pressed to do something beyond the pale.

I wonder if it’s a symptom of comfort that we worry if we’re doing the right thing for the wrong reasons.

My answer right now is that I can only do the right thing, because that’s what other people see and they don’t know the difference. God knows if my reasons are impure, but He’s used to His creatures messing up. He created Adam and Eve after all.

Leave a Reply

