Watch That First Step

“We admitted we were powerless over [fill in the blank] – that our lives had become unmanageable.”

It seems simple enough: “Do you have a problem?” Obviously. I can’t stop doing this and my life sucks. If it was that simple, though, it wouldn’t have taken seven years just to get where I am right now. 

The first step isn’t just admitting that there’s a problem; it’s the point where I realize that I simply cannot do this anymore. Period. End stop.

The first step is the only one that I have gotten right every day for the last 300 and some days. It’s the only thing that I have done to perfection. I can afford to screw up many things, but not that.

My relationship with my higher power is not always on point. I say and do stupid things. I don’t always tell the truth. I yell at the windshield at least once a day. These are all things that I can get away with sometimes, but if I slip on that one thing it’s all over, and I’ll be lucky if I’m the guy coming back with a sheepish look on his face.

Leave a Reply

