Friday Night Music: Sweetwater

The most unexpected gift of recovery has been that I am no longer afraid of who I am. It’s why I write under my own name.

One day I was driving around on deliveries and listening to music, and I had a strange new thought: I liked this guy. I was okay with this guy. There are things in my past weren’t my finest hour, but I could face God and own them.

I have a sickness that is as deadly as any cancer. I’ve known a number of people who have succumbed to it. And it’s something my mind tells me I want to have.

And today, and for a number of days before today, I beat it.

 I won.

Today I understand gratitude. Today fear slipped away just a little more.

One thought on “Friday Night Music: Sweetwater

  1. That’s awesome! Contentment and gratitude are wonderful gifts we can bestow upon ourselves. Others need not apply for our peace comes from within, not without. You’ve given me a wonderful realization this morning, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

